Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Moyamoya.com

NEW search box below... Search Moyamoya.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday ListDonate  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Marathon Walk to Raise Funds for Moyamoya (Read 14024 times)
KTiller
Senior Poster

Freeland, USA, usa, 51, 28, WA, Washington
Marathon Walk to Raise Funds for Moyamoya
Jul 24th, 2009 at 10:45pm

Hi Everyone Smiley
I'm in training to walk in the Seattle Marathon this November 29th. I'll be sending out a letter to everyone I know or do business with asking them to support my walk by writing a check to Stanford Medical Center to support Dr. Steinberg's MM research. Can you give me some suggestions on what else I might do to raise more funds?

I've never done anything like this before, it's my first ever athletic event. Weighing in at 200 pounds it'll be quite an endeavor, but the cause is well worth the effort. And if this doesn't help to shed some of those pounds, nothin' will.SmileyWould anyone like to join me?Smiley There's plenty of time yet to train for the event. There are also half marathon, 5K, and 10K walking and running events.

I think Thanksgiving weekend is an auspicious date for this. For me, it'll be a celebration of my gratitude to the Stanford team. If not for their amazing skill and care I doubt I'd still be able to walk so far - I'm one of the lucky ones. I sure would like to see an end put to this disease.

I'll do my best to get us some media coverage to promote awareness of Moyamoya. Will you join me?
Kim

IP Logged

disneygirl
Junior Poster

Blessed MM Survivor

Danville, Illinois
Re: Marathon Walk to Raise Funds for Moyamoya
Reply #1 - Jul 26th, 2009 at 11:34pm

Kim,
WOW!!  What ambition and energy.  I think what you are doing is gerat.  I wish I had the energy, but it has only been 4 months since my surgeries, I still get pretty tired.