Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Moyamoya.com

NEW search box below... Search Moyamoya.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday ListDonate  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Dental Care (Read 4355 times)
Robill
New Poster

I Love MM.com!

Dental Care
Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:08pm

Soooo, as if impending surgery isn't enough, I have a dental abscess and need a root canal, Huh it's scheduled for Friday, because we're boarding a plane on Monday.  Anyone aware of any restriction with dental care?????? Undecided
Thanks! Laura

IP Logged

ladybug3
New Poster

I Love MM.com!

Re: Dental Care
Reply #1 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 12:39am

Yes!!! Don't use novacane or something like the local numbing agents!!  Tell your dentist that you have moyamoya and you cannot have medicines that vasoconstrict. Is that correct? Because I cannot have meds that vasoconstrict and I also heard that's common for MM>

I just had a cavity filled and I fell in love with the dentist bc he actualy told me that I should tell dentists not to use the novacane and he did his research. I didn't expect it!  Now, I never fail to tell the eye doctor, the doctor, or the dentist that I have moyamoya and I beg them to do their research. Just to think I had 6 surgeries on my mouth and 12 teeth pulled usng that stuff before I was diagnosed 6 years ago. I'm happy to be alive.

IP Logged

hrsridermom
Senior Poster

mother of 19 yr old daughter
with MMD

Tampa, USA, FL, Florida
Re: Dental Care
Reply #2 - Feb 22nd, 2013 at 6:13pm